A walk in the woods

After so many days focusing on little but looking for work, I decided to take an hour or two off and go for a walk in the woods.

I needed to clear my head, refresh my thinking and generally shake off the cabin fever and the woods were the perfect place to do that.

The one thing I can tell you straight away is every trip to the woods provides a different experience. Many people think of woods as calm, quiet places. They are anything but. If you look and really listen you will realise that the eco-system surrounding you is anything but dormant. From the vegetal smell of the pine needles on the forrest floor, to the quiet rustle of ants working together to move a small pine cone, or a woodpecker tapping away at a tree-trunk in the distance, a wood is a veritable highway of nature.

Tree stump hollowed out at the topThe woods I visited today aren’t that big, only a few acres in fact, but they are big enough to enable me to detach from the world and enjoy the comforts of nature.

Just that action of sitting calmly and trying to empty my mind, leaving no room for anything but the sounds and sights of nature is something I find so beneficial. In fact there have been a couple of times in the past where relatives have commented “You’ve not been to the woods for a while have you?” Apparently they can tell by how tense I appear.

If you go down to the woods today, you’re sure of a big surprise.

That surprise may be just how refreshed and relaxed you are when you return. I suppose it is really just my version of meditation.

One thought on “A walk in the woods

  1. Pingback: Vegetal – Daily Prompt – ladyleemanila

Your thoughts?

