Man Make Fire

There’s something quite primitive about setting fire to things and watching the flames. Watching the yellow and orange tints in the flames as they dance around according to the breeze.

Solo Stove lit with Solo Pot 900 on top
Solo Stove lit with Solo Pot 900 on top

That sounds like the start of a crime novel doesn’t it? Yet I cannot help but think along those lines every time I use my Solo Stove.

I bought the standard Solo Stove and Solo Pot 900 combo. As cooking systems go it is a pricey bit of kit, but you can feel the quality that will deliver many years of service as soon as you open the box.

Also, due to the design, you get a very clean burn. That means lots of flames and heat, but very little smoke even with damp materials.

The main reason I went for a wood burning portable stove is I did not want to have to worry about fuel. If I can ignite it, the Solo Stove pretty much takes care of the rest. I don’t have to worry about topping up alcohol reservoirs or replacing gas canisters.

Solo Stove loaded with a mix of ash and pine shavings
Solo Stove loaded with a mix of ash and pine shavings

I tend to use a mixture of shavings to start off. The soft pine gives a good source of heat to get the harder ash shavings going. Then I can simply use twigs I find on the ground to keep things going along nicely.

As I got the combo with the 900ml Pot, when it comes to packing things away all I have to do is make sure the stove is cool and completely extinguished. Put it back in the carry bag it came in and that slips neatly inside the pot.

Solo Pot 900 with the Solo Stove inside the bag
Solo Pot 900 with the Solo Stove inside the bag

That ensure a minimal amount of space is required in my pack. Neat eh?

Your thoughts?

