Feeling down

Sorry but this one is going to be a bit of a whinge, but I hope I can write it out of my system and bounce back.

It’s all about the work

I’m taking a bit of a gamble writing this. What if a potential employer comes along and sees it? But every since I first started work, I have used it to define who and what I am. When I’m enjoying what I do, I’m the sort of person who will be first in the office and last out.

My work consumes as much as I consume it. So this period of time without work is hurting me. I feel as though I lack identity and it is starting to affect my self-worth.

I am trapped in a situation where on top of whatever I do for work, I have to provide carer services to elderly relatives. That in itself does not bother me. In fact at times it can be quite fun. However, it is having an negative impact on my career. When I say trapped, I mean I am stuck in a location that is not great for picking up new jobs. In fact you could say it is very lean pickings round here.

If I go for something that really inspires me, it tends to be outside my commutable area. This is not a problem if the employer would consider the role for remote working. Unfortunately there still seems to be a perception that remote workers cannot be managed and do not put in the time and effort they should, even though all the surveys say the exact opposite, that organisations get more bang for their buck from employing remote workers.

That leaves me applying for jobs that I can do, but employers regard me as being over-qualified. Now I have no problem in switching careers and starting back at the bottom, to work my way back up. In fact, there’s a distinct benefit in doing that, but it seems my CV gets sidelined at the sifting stage.

I feel as though I have bucket loads of transferable skills; I’m numerate, literate, an analytical problem solver, customer service skills. Yet I seem to be failing to get that across to potential employers, despite doing a number of free online courses since the work dried up.

One area where I know my position is weak is networking. I need to get out there and do more. I’ve looked on Meetup.com and once again, there are no groups to plug-in to in my area. The nearest hotspot is 35 miles away, so I will need to allocate some of my budget to getting to and from there.

Are there other sites like Meetup?

My hopes

As I already mentioned for me a job is so much more than a job.

I have to keep pushing on to try and find that role, any role really, that will let me pay the bills.

If you asked me what my ideal role would entail, it would include writing, perhaps short bursts of travel (that would allow me to get carer cover in), something where I would be helping people, something where I would be learning new things, something where my contribution would be valued, something in a positive, upbeat environment. Hard work does not phase me. In fact I relish it, which is probably why this stint is driving me nuts.

I am sure there will be light at the end of the tunnel eventually. I just hope it isn’t a train coming in my direction. 🙂

Anyway, if you have read this far, thanks.

4 thoughts on “Feeling down

    1. Al

      There’s good days and bad.

      Just got to keep trying and hoping something comes through in the end.

      Sadly there are way too many of us in this position I think.

      Like

Your thoughts?

