It’s getting to that time of year

It’s getting to that time of year again. You know the one, with Christmas just around the corner, but for us Brits, we have to survive Black Friday first.

Black Friday, an apocalyptic retail day that has somehow made its way across the Atlantic.

Not even my email inbox is safe. Every day it is jammed full of emails eliciting my card details with their new ways of relieving me of cash for products and  ‘deals I simply cannot afford to miss!

Buy nothing day

Ever one for the counter culture I came across a website entitled Buy Nothing Day. I have no idea who set it up or what their motivations were. Perhaps they were as fed us as the rest of us have things pushed at us all the time.

At the very bottom of the page they’ve come up with the strapline, ‘Shop less live more‘ and there is certain ring to that for me.

2 thoughts on “It’s getting to that time of year

    1. Al

      The different name is interesting.

      I’ll still think it’s all about shifting the stuff they couldn’t sell any other time of year though. They’re not daft these retailers. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

