Returning old school

As some of you may have noticed, I have been a bit quiet on here lately. Sometimes you just have to take a break from doing things, even if you love doing them.

It has been five days since I last posted and my little hiatus was brought on by me not sleeping (still worrying about work!) and getting myself really run down to the point where my body just said “Enough!”

Liberating

During my downtime I started some old school journaling. I didn’t have to write much. It didn’t have to make sense. I didn’t have to spell-check it, or consider too much what I said. It was a record of my life, for me, by me.

You know what? I found the whole experience really liberating. I had not realised how much I censor myself on this blog, until I started writing just for me. I suppose that shows the massive difference between writing and publishing.

Here we publish.

In my journal I write. I get to dump all my thoughts on the page and try and make some sort of sense out of it. If I can’t, it doesn’t matter. I can go back to it later, no harm done.

We keep being told in the UK we have ‘freedom of speech’. Total nonsense. We don’t. Try commenting the ‘wrong way’ on a subject on social media and the authorities will be round your place for an easy arrest.

In the USA, they have the Constitution. That old bit of paper that has rightly been a thorn in the side of Government since the day the ink dried on it.

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances”

First Amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America.

Wow. Look at the power in that one paragraph.

I suppose the founding fathers made that the first amendment because it was the most important one.

When you start to look at the other amendments that make up the US Bill of Rights, you realise how beautifully crafted the text was. Each amendment written to address a former grievance and to protect the people. No wonder it has caused such consternation to modern day politicians.

In my offline journal, handwritten using a fountain pen, I too can have my first amendment rights. That is simply something I just don’t have online.

Your thoughts?

