Oh joy. Dripping and spluttering.

I awoke this morning to the sound of breaking glass. It is recycling day and I think next door must have had a party or two, judging by the amount of glass that hit the inside of the wagon from their bin.

It had been a rough night for me. I felt really washed out so I was in bed for 10pm. That’s amazingly early compared to previous nights where I have struggled to find sleep. The next thing I knew was I awoke at 1am, shivering so badly that I was almost break-dancing.

My entire body ached. From the joints in my fingers, my neck and back, as well as my legs. All giving me a significant amount of pain. My throat was constricted, so breathing was a problem and my nose, my nose was flowing like a river.

By the time the glass shattered in the back of the bin wagon at 7am, I was burning up and my temperature was through the rood, despite feeling cold to the bones. I knew I needed to do something, so I dragged myself out of bed and along to the local pharmacy.

By the time I got there I was sweating like a racehorse, and after a quick consultation with the pharmacist, I had the medicine I needed. It wasn’t cheap, but then again medicine never is if you have to pay for it.

A queue of people in similar conditions began to form behind me, so I am pleased I made the effort to get there early. It seems there is a nasty cold bug going around and typically, I got lumbered with it.

The plan of action today is to stay at home. Continue the job search and keep wrapped up warm.

One thing I do not want to do is pass this bug on to relatives. I think that would be one present they would not thank me for.

Your thoughts?

