Lesson from nature

It is the simple things in life that give me the most pleasure.

To many people that may sound a bit of a cliché, but it really is true. Over the winter I do find myself going a little crazy because much of the time I stuck at home. That home is very much in an urban environment and in an urban environment the animal hide from the sounds of humans, traffic and other predators.

But if you venture out in the dead of night, 2,3, even 4 am, and are careful to avoid nightclub areas you will be surprised what you come across if you just quietly walk the streets.

Our communities take on a whole different persona once the lights go down and as the humans retreat into their homes, the animals come out to play. Within a few hundred yards of my home, next to a main road, I have seen foxes, rabbits, heron, as well as the odd owl stalking for mice.

Venture into one of our local woodlands and I then become surrounded by the sounds of all sorts of creatures that can see me, but I cannot see them. I have even caught sight of a deer leaping across four lanes of a dual carriageway in the early hours of a morning.

It all reminds me that where I live used to be a huge oak forest. That was before the people came. Before the people cut down those trees and tried to reclaim the land from nature. I wonder what it must have been like to live amongst that forest before the destruction went too far.

It all reminds me of a song by The Eagles, The Last Resort. We all know the story of how the Wild West was won, but that song tells the story of how the Wild West was lost. It is all there, laid out in the lyrics.

Your thoughts?

