President Trump’s Travel Ban. What is it I don’t understand?

By U.S. Army/Army Sgt. Ashley Marble [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By U.S. Army/Army Sgt. Ashley Marble [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
I have no intention of turning this into a political blog, but I would like to understand this subject further.

This is an appeal to my readers in the USA.

All hell seems to have broken loose about the temporary travel ban that President Trump wanted to put into place.

The problem I have here in the UK is I don’t think the media here have fully explained what it is all about so I would appreciate someone with boots on the ground in the USA explaining why this has caused so much upset.

As I understand it

If I have got it right, the President has said he wants to prevent entry to the USA from a number of named countries for a period of 90 days.

He has named a number of countries whose demographics are predominantly Muslim when it comes to religion.

Is Saudia Arabia on that list?

I would have thought after the murders of 9/11 that Saudi Arabia should have been first on the list.

Why are people so opposed to the ban?

I would have thought that saying, “OK, for the next 90 days nobody comes in from these countries. We have to pause, assess, and modify procedures where necessary relating to citizens of countries we regard as a risk” was quite a sensible thing to do. Did the measures go further than that to provoke such a violent backlash? If so, what did they say that hasn’t been reported here in the UK?

Keeping me safe

If I know, a certain type of person wants to do me and my family harm isn’t it sensible to as much distance as possible between me and that type of person?

For example, if as an English person I go into a bar in the wrong area of Belfast in the Northern Ireland, there is a good chance I will not be made welcome. If I start talking about how great it is to be English and how wonderful the United Kingdom is, there is a good chance I would have violence used against me even after all these years since the Good Friday agreement.

So isn’t it a good idea for me to not go into that bar and for the bar owners and regular patrons to say, actually you’re not welcome and we’d appreciate you going elsewhere.

After all, nobody wants bother on a night out, so that would benefit everyone.

Citizenship and Green Cards

Presumably for someone to be granted permission for permanent residency means they have gone through all the background checks, security checks and integrity checks necessary to be granted one of the famous ‘Green Cards’. So, in that case, shouldn’t their movement from one country to another be allowed?

Also, if someone has gone the extra mile and declared their allegiance and renounced former citizenships of other countries, shouldn’t that open up the door to travel like any other US citizen?

I am missing something, surely?

So what is it I’ve not been told? What is it that has caused so much outrage? Looking after your own, whilst distancing yourself from those who would do you harm seems like a good idea to me.

Yet I cannot help but think I have missed something.

If I have, what was it?

Your thoughts?

