There’s always time for a Tuba Smarties

Sky. It was the name of a supergroup from the late 70s early 80s if my memory serves me well. Long before any TV channel hijacked that name in the UK.

By St0rmz (http://www.flickr.com/photos/alazaat/2357636026/) [CC BY 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons
By St0rmz (http://www.flickr.com/photos/alazaat/2357636026/) [CC BY 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons
I found this video of Tuba Smarties played by Herbie Flowers. It brought back so many memories because I played it for my music O Level practical examination. The music teacher thought I was slightly mad when I said what tune I wanted to play on the E Tuba. His suspicions may have been confirmed when I turned up to the recording in full on Gnome outfit as per the great Mr Flowers himself. Well, I did have to get into character to play it.

Bass guitar, as well as the lower brass sections, are often overlooked, whether you are playing in an ensemble or full band, so I am very grateful that Herbie Flowers created this track to allow these instruments to come to the fore for once.

However, my two great failings in life are never having learned to the play the piano, or master Cavatina (as played so wonderfully by John Williams from Sky) on the nylon strung guitar. There’s still time though. 🙂

 

Your thoughts?

