Forgive them, they know not what they do

BBC News reports that Amazon has launched what is being referred to as a ‘style assistant’.

I have to admit that my first thought was:

They want you to put microphones into your home using Amazon Echo. Now here come the cameras.

Presumably, it will not be long before other large corporations launch similar products.

It seems to me it is yet another piece of the total surveillance grid being put into place. In fact, it is worse than that because the narcissistic millennial generation will pay to have the surveillance set on them.

Of course, the usual talk of not passing on information to third parties gets a mention. I’m sure the corporate executives actually mean what they say, but what about those with less than honourable intent. What happens when these devices start getting hacked? We have all heard of massive data breaches relating to technology, so what data does this device collect and store in databases? Somehow that aspect always gets lost in the marketing.

What happens when these devices start getting hacked? We have all heard of massive data breaches relating to technology, so what data does this device collect and store in databases? Somehow that aspect always gets lost in the marketing.

We have all heard of massive data breaches relating to technology, so what data does this device collect and store in databases? Somehow that aspect always gets lost in the marketing.

Surely it is reasonable to assume that it is only a matter of time before any new technology is hacked?

The tech industry is spending huge sums of money trying to convince the world that the ‘internet of things’ is something we all need.

Why would I want my washing machine to be connected to the internet? Or my fridge, freezer or toaster? It just does not make sense to me.

Why would I want a microphone or camera sending information about me to a foreign owned corporation?

I don’t think I am spinning you a yarn when I say the narcissistic millennial generation that has been brought up on a diet of ‘selfies’ seem to be in the firing line. Once the early adopters are in, the rest will follow without thinking.

Then the surveillance grid becomes the ‘new normal’.

Needless to say, it is not a concept I intend buying into.

One thought on “Forgive them, they know not what they do

Your thoughts?

